Chicken ‘n Waffles!

After being inspired by Tasty’s Chicken and Waffle Bites video, and with the love in my heart for waffles, I knew I needed to try this. I had seasoned chicken breast from Safeway that I added a little cayenne, chili powder, Lawry’s, and cinnamon to. Then I used my go-to Kodiak Power Cakes pancake mix for the waffle batter. Added 1 egg, about 2 teaspoons of canola oil, some black pepper, and italian seasoning to 1 cup of pancake mix, and water as needed.

Observations:

  • It was difficult to get my chicken and waffles to turn out like the video, and I ended up with these nearly-cooked chicken chunks surrounded by what looked like waffle puddles. I popped my little waffle bites in the toaster oven at 350 degrees for about another 5-8 minutes, and the chicken came out nice and tender and the waffle batter was crispier.
  • In my second attempt, I sliced the chicken breast thinner and just added a whole bunch of chicken to make 1 regular sized chicken-stuffed waffle. Cooked on medium heat for about 8-10 minutes, then popped in the toaster oven a 350 degrees for another 5. Cut the final product up into 4 pieces and ta-da!

image1

Sauce: I mixed whole grain dijon mustard with a touch of maple syrup, a squirt of sriracha, and honey to taste. REALLY good as a dipping sauce, or smothered on top (as seen above).

Leave a Reply

