Repurposed Thanksgiving Leftovers

With all those Thanksgiving leftovers, don’t settle for repeats of the same dishes reheated! Here are 2 ideas I tried this year with the massive amounts of left overs from Thanksgiving at my parents’ place.  

Thanksgiving Holi-Waffle

I’m open to new name ideas, but all that came to mind for a holiday waffle at the time, was “holi-waffle.” Not my finest display of creativity. Anyways. Took some left over green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes, turkey, and lots of stuffing, mixed it together with one egg, then threw it in the waffle maker.

Ta-da! Served with leftover cranberry sauce on top.

*Note: Depending on the amount of stuffing, these waffles may just crumble when you try to take them out. I inverted my waffle maker to get this waffle to fall out, but I had trouble with the next couple I made. The more stuffing, the more waffly these will turn out.

Baked Cheesy Mashed Potato Balls

Inspiration: https://www.facebook.com/buzzfeedtasty/videos/1678513359067973/

With only mashed potatoes and turkey left, I went to the pantry to see what else I could use to combine these two ingredients into something wonderful. With one egg, seasoned bread crumbs, and shredded cheese, I knew I had all the makings of a great cheesy mashed potato ball!

I mixed the turkey, mashed potatoes, and cheese together and seasoned with my usual spices. Cracked the egg in one bowl and poured some bread crumbs in another. Made a ball out of my cheesy turkey-potato mix, rolled in the egg, rolled in the bread crumbs, back in the egg, back in the bread crumbs. Baked at around 375 for 30 minutes or so, or until golden brown.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

