Cleanse Day 3: Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

This morning, I was super exhausted (perhaps a detox side effect?) so I woke up late, missed breakfast with the family, and had cold oats. Still tasty though!

Breakfast: Steel cut oats with cinnamon, clementine, and Kerrygold butter

Another way to enjoy cold oats is by making overnight oats with regular rolled oats. Just take half a cup of rolled oats and 1-1.5 cups of water or your choice of milk (for a creamier texture), put it in a mason jar and leave in the fridge overnight. Be creative with your flavors! Try cinnamon, a splash of vanilla extract, chia seeds, and fruit (berries or banana work great!) and add the full 1.5 cups of liquid. The oats and chia will soak up all that goodness overnight and be ready for you in the morning!

Lunch: Detox Vegetable Soup and Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie


Yes I said pie! If you enjoyed Chris Wark’s Anti-cancer smoothie, you’ll love this. Instead of the cup of berries, I subbed in half of a large baked organic sweet potato (skin and all, about 1 cup).

Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 young coconut
  • 1 – 2 frozen bananas (I had them pre-cut so I think I grabbed about 1.5 bananas)
  • 1 cup of baked sweet potato
  • Ice (until you reach your desired consistency)
  • Cinnamon and pumpkin spice to taste (I use lots!)
  • 1 tablespoon of Bragg’s apple cider vinegar

Instructions

  1. Crack into your coconut and pour all the liquid into your blender. Scoop out all the “meat” from inside and blend until smooth.
  2. Add the sweet potato and blend.
  3. Add the banana, ice and vinegar and blend.
  4. Add your spices to taste.

This is so good, we thought we must have been cheating on our cleanse! In the next few days, we’re hoping to try putting this mixture into an ice cream maker for Sweet Potato Pie Ice Cream 🙂

For the soup, I added in a little water since it was pretty thick and added a couple big leaves of collard greens. Warmed over medium heat on the stove.

Dinner: Mixed veggies and hummus with an apple kale protein shake

Organic carrots, zucchini, celery, and radishes. We got this hummus from Costco (also organic) and it’s one of the better hummuses I’ve had.

My protein shake was kind of a fail, and I’m blaming the protein powder. A lot of the protein powders I usually use are whey, and on this cleanse, we are pretty much going vegan. I had a sample pouch of some Sun Warrior Vegan Vanilla Protein, and I would NOT recommend it. I mixed it up with some almond milk and tried to improve the taste with cinnamon. No improvement. So then I thought, well, I love Kale, so why not? Added some kale, through in a little bit of apple and a splash of cider vinegar. It was all I could do to get this thing down, but I did it! No, don’t blame the kale, it was definitely the protein powder that was the flaw in this equation. Now I know not to ever buy that kind. Gotta love samples!

One thought on “Cleanse Day 3: Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

Leave a Reply

