Cleanse Day 5: Spiced Carrot Juice

Today was definitely not as exciting as yesterday. We’ve had painters upstairs so the kitchen was out of commission most of the day. While I spent the last 3 months in Seattle as a basement dweller coming up with creative ways to cook, I just didn’t have enough energy today to set up any of our portable kitchen appliances. Alas, leftovers it is!

Breakfast: Slow-cooked apple and cinnamon oats

Yesterday, I opened up a new 2 quart slow cooker and attempted to make oats in time for breakfast. Unlike my old slow cooker, this one didn’t cook very fast, so we had these left over oats from yesterday for breakfast today. I had chopped up and thrown in a red delicious apple to my 1 cup of oats and 4 cups of water. It took a few hours but by the end my slow cooker was nearly filled to the brim with oats! The apples kind of dissolved too into apple sauce, but added great flavor. Topped it all off with cinnamon and walnuts.

Lunch: Spiced Carrot Juice and Detox Vegetable Soup

Finally finished off all the soup from day 1! Also finished off the carrot juice we made yesterday. I wanted to mix it up a little bit though. Since I hadn’t been feeling very today and wanted to support my immune system, I added 1 drop of my Young Living Thieves Essential Oil*. A perfect compliment! My carrot juice was revitalized with a little zing of clove, lemon, cinnamon, eucalyptus, and rosemary.

*Remember, if you are interested in learning more about the health benefits of essential oils and/or want to give some a try, please send me an email! I’d love to chat with you more: LKW.healthyliving@gmail.com

Dinner: Wadley Salad

In anticipation of dinner, I had run around frantically looking for anything cleanse friendly that didn’t require cooking. Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed getting to eat this salad!

Ingredients in the Wadley salad can change based on what’s in the refrigerator, but here’s what we had tonight (all organic produce):

  • Mixed greens
  • Red and green cabbage
  • Cucumber
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Apple
  • Avocado
  • Parsley
  • Leeks
  • Garlic
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Dressing: lemon juice, olive oil

We sprinkled on garlic salt and a little cayenne, then finished it off with a little sauerkraut juice (all the sauerkraut was gone…but the liquid added some nice additional flavor).

Almost 1/3 of the way through this cleanse. Hopefully I’ll get to be a little more creative tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

