Cleanse Day 6: Stir Fried Collards and Sweet Potatoes 

Today was a mix of meal-on-the-go and “let’s see what we have in the refrigerator and use it up.” I’d say we definitely got our daily recommended intake of fruits and veggies! We’re nearly 1 week into our cleanse and I’m starting to feel a bit more energized, and sleeping better too!

Breakfast: Slow-cooked (VERY slow, 8+ hours!) steel cut oats with lemon, blueberry, cinnamon, and chia seeds (and a smidgen of Kerrygold butter)

Last night, the oats went into the slow cooker on low and this morning, they were nice and creamy. Everyone dressed theirs differently, but I chose to squeeze half a lemon over it with a handful of frozen blueberries. Of course, I needed to have my cinnamon, and then decided to throw in just a little bit of butter and a teaspoon of chia seeds. I think this would have been even better with a touch of honey or maple syrup, but I stayed away from the sweeteners this morning.

Lunch on the go: Organic black bean soup from Publix and Arugula

This is probably my favorite on-the-go meal. I LOVE my greens. When we’re out, if I can find a good soup (or a Taco Time if we’re in the NW…this works great with their white chicken chili!), I’ll buy a container of greens and dump my soup on top. The greens will wilt down and it adds a lot of bulk and nutrients for not a lot of calories. If you’re thinking, wow…that’s a whole lot of greens…it’s really only 2 servings according to the label 🙂

Post-work out snack: Chris Wark’s Anti-Cancer Smoothie

The gym was a little tough today. I’m guessing I hadn’t had enough to eat, but about 2/3 of the way through our cardio session, I felt really weak. Once we got home, the Mr. cracked into a coconut and this smoothie hit the spot!

Dinner: Mixed Veggie Stir-Fry with Collard Greens and Sweet Potatoes

I made collard greens, I’m Southern!! 😀 I got my inspiration for this dish from these two recipes:

  1. http://sweetnicks.com/weblog/2009/11/collards-and-sweet-potatoes/
  2. http://www.veganrunnereats.com/837/vegan-collard-greens-in-a-slow-cooker-a-southern-new-years-day-tradition/

Mixed Veggie Stir-Fry with Collard Greens and Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients (you can do this in whatever proportions you like)

  • Olive oil
  • Sweet potatoes, chopped into uniform cubes (about 3 small to medium sized)
  • Shredded cabbage, both green and purple
  • Garlic cloves, chopped
  • Spices: tumeric, garlic salt, thyme, basil, cayenne
  • Water mixed with a splash of Bragg’s apple cider vinegar
  • Chopped collard greens
  • Chopped onion
  • Chopped mushroom
  • More Bragg’s apple cider vinegar
  • Bragg’s liquid aminos
  • Parsley

Instructions

  1. In a large pan over medium heat, pour in about a tablespoon of olive oil. Add the sweet potatoes and mix to coat.
  2. Season with spices above and add water mixed with vinegar as necessary to keep the potatoes from sticking to the bottom of the pan. Cook for about 8-10 minutes, stirring frequently, until potatoes start to soften.
  3. Add the cabbage and continue to stir.
  4. In a separate pan, pour in another tablespoon of olive oil and add your collard greens. Stir until wilted.
  5. Add in the onion then splash with apple cider vinegar and liquid aminos.
  6. Once the onion has begun softening, add the mushrooms. Add parsley at the very end (save some to add as garnish).
  7. Mix the pan of sweet potato into the collard greens and continue to cook on low for 5 minutes.

Such a beautiful array of colors!

We all topped ours off differently, but I chose to top mine off with more parsley and hemp seeds. The Mr. added just a touch of blue agave, which rounded out the flavors nicely. With all the veggies we chopped up, I thought there would be plenty of left overs. Alas, the four of us ate the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

