Cleanse Day 8: Shepherd’s Leftovers Pie 

ROLL TIDE! Whelp, today’s menu was miles healthier than what we ate during the last Alabama game (oh pre-cleanse days…), but I’m sure we’ll feel a lot better tomorrow morning than we did a week and a half ago!

Breakfast: Slow Cooked Lemon Ginger Oats

Last night, I dropped some peeled chunks of ginger and a squeeze of lemon in with the oats before turning my slow cooker on low. I tried buttering the sides of the slow cooker, but without occasional stirring, I still ended up with chewy chunks. Luckily, they came out much easier today.

L for Landon starting his first day of work?? I added in a whole tablespoon of chia seeds and a teaspoon of blue agave nectar to make sure I had enough energy to hit the gym after dropping Landon off. The sweetener really helped to cut the bite of the ginger.

Lunch: Shepherd’s Leftovers Pie

All alone at the house, I scrounged for sustenance and contemplated ways to transform the leftovers we had. I took the leftovers from yesterday’s Vegetable and Red Lentil Soup, along with a sweet potato and came up with “Shepherd’s Leftovers Pie”. First, I started with a cooked sweet potato and mashed it in a bowl with some cinnamon and garlic salt. Then I put my left over soup in a glass dish, trying to avoid most of the broth. I topped it off with the sweet potato mixture and cooked it in the toaster oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Unless you’re like me and can handle extremely hot foods (I inherited this trait from my mama), wait about 5 minutes to let this cool off before tasting.

Snack: Worst idea ever

I wanted to get fancy with our carrot juice, but I may have gotten a little TOO fancy. The Mr. and I started by adding a sizable portion of ginger in with our carrots. This wasn’t too bad (at least to me…) and left us with a spicy beverage sure to enliven your taste buds (and possibly sinuses). Then I got a little carried away as I was chopping up our salads and thought it would be a great idea to incorporate some radish greens instead of just throwing them out.

No. This was quite possibly the worst drinks I’ve had for as long as I can remember. I do not recommend this, but I would not be defeated by my mistake! I finished the whole thing with the help of a water/apple cider vinegar chaser. Never again.

Dinner: Green Salad with Quinoa and Lentils

For dinner, we didn’t have too many vegetables left, so I added in come quinoa to give it more bulk. Earlier in the day, I had prepared 1 cup of quinoa according to the package instructions, and added in some of the leftover lentils that had sunk to the bottom of our soup.

After we juiced, I also added in some of the carrot pulp to this quinoa. I assembled the salad with just mixed greens, some chopped cauliflower and broccoli, the quinoa mixture, a sprinkle of sunflower seeds, and a dressing of lemon juice, Bragg’s apple cider vinegar, and a touch of olive oil. Finished it off with a little cayenne and oregano.

Well, it’s nothing like pizza and wings, but at least we’re headed to watch the game with full stomachs.

Dessert: Tropical Berry Ice Cream

Come on, we needed at least one fun thing we could eat during the game. I stuck Chris Wark’s Anti Cancer Smoothie in my ice cream machine to make a game day treat!

After letting this churn for about 45 minutes, we brought it with us to our friends’ house and stuck it in the freezer until half time. Definitely a better consistency right out of the ice cream maker, but it was more than good enough to keep us away from all the other tempting treats!

ROLL TIDE!

Leave a Reply

