Cleanse Day 9: Salad – Simple to Store Bought

Today I may have come close to exceeding the maximum intake of greens one should consume in a day (can there be such a thing??). Aside from our usual steel cut oats in the morning, I found myself stumbling upon salad after salad for the rest of the day. With a little variety, I really didn’t mind my afternoon to evening salad trifecta. Plus, I was able to buy my first Alabama shirt while out to lunch with my sweet Auntie Kim, so I’d say today was a win (like the game last night, ROLL TIDE!). 

Breakfast: Carrot Cake Oats

With the left over carrot pulp from yesterday’s juice (before I made the terrible mistake of juicing my radish greens), I decided to try for some “carrot cake” oats. I put 1 cup of steel cut oats in my slow cooker with 4 cups of water, about 3/4 cup carrot pulp, 1 chopped apple, a large chunk of peeled ginger, and some cinnamon.

I let it cook on low all night then mixed in some walnuts and a touch of Kerrygold butter to finish it off. Unsweetened shaved coconut would have been wonderful if we had had any. You could also add some raisins (if that’s your thing, I don’t really prefer them), but I don’t think dried fruit is currently on our acceptable foods list.

A new record!

Lunch: Quinoa Salad from Zoe’s Kitchen in Birmingham

This place was delicious! This was my first time eating at Zoe’s and I was really impressed by their fresh options and that they actually had things that fit cleanse parameters! I ordered the quinoa salad without meat or feta cheese, with the dressing on the side. It came with quinoa, tomatoes, cucumbers, celery, broccoli, and greens. Auntie Kim also gave me her kalamata olives. Yum!

Enjoying lunch together 🙂

Snack: Super simple salad

When I got home, I needed some sort of snack. We had run out of a lot of produce, so I made due with what was left. I took a big handful of greens, chopped up the rest of the cauliflower, then sprinkled on some parsley and a glob of our hommus from Costco. Finished it off with a little cayenne, oregano, and Bragg’s apple cider vinegar. Although I prefer my salads loaded, this simple salad made for a great snack.

Dinner: Loaded Wadley Salad

Dad came home with groceries and made us these beautiful salads!

Mixed greens, tri color peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, red cabbage, apple, sauerkraut, sunflower seeds, hemp seeds, turmeric, garlic and garlic powder, cayenne, and lemon/olive oil dressing. Definitely got my wish for a loaded salad!

3 thoughts on “Cleanse Day 9: Salad – Simple to Store Bought

Leave a Reply

