Cleanse Day 10: Chai Chia Oats

Today was one of those days when you get so caught up in what you are working on, that you nearly forget to eat! Good thing I had these dishes pre-made and waiting for me. Whenever you have a chance to do some extra meal prep to make things easier on yourself later, take advantage of it!

Breakfast: Chai Chia Oats

As I prepared our slow cooker last night, I decided to try cooking the oats in some chai tea. We’d been eating oats steeped in ginger, so why not add a little more spice?

Chai Chia Oats

Ingredients (4 servings)

  • 1 cup of steel cut oats
  • 4 cups of water steeped with 4 chai tea bags (I used 2 small tea strainers and the flavor wasn’t quite strong enough for me)
  • A chunk of peeled ginger
  • Cinnamon to taste

Instructions

  1. Prepare your tea until you’ve achieved your desired flavor (with chai, I don’t like leaving the tea in for longer than 5 minutes because it will start to get bitter).
  2. Pour the oats and tea into your slow cooker and set on low. Add the ginger and cinnamon.
  3. Set it and forget it!
  4. Add 2 – 3 tsp of chia seeds per serving.

I didn’t add any sweetener, but a touch of grade B maple syrup and some unsweetened almond milk would have gone wonderfully with the chai flavors. I checked on the oats after they had been cooking for 4 hours, and they were such a nice consistency with no oats stuck to the side. In the morning, the sides were caked with burnt oats. Tomorrow I’m going to try a bigger slow cooker with an automatic shut off. Hopefully that will discourage the abundance of chewy chunks.

Lunch: Loaded Wadley Salad with quinoa

All I had to do here was add some quinoa to leftovers from last night’s salad. Super simple!

Dinner: Raw meal protein shake with almond milk

About halfway done with our cleanse! So funny how the things I wish I could eat the most are yogurt and eggs. My taste buds are getting more sensitive because the almond milk we had today was not unsweetened (bummer) and it tasted like a chocolate milk shake. Hopefully that means my sweet tooth will soon be tamed by fruit instead of cakes and cookies!

One thought on “Cleanse Day 10: Chai Chia Oats

Leave a Reply

