Cleanse Day 20: 3-Grain Porrdige, Rosemary Sweet Potato Fries

Just 1 more day to go!! Today I got a little over zealous with my need to experiment…so breakfast turned out a little…interesting. 

Breakfast: 3-grain Porridge

What do you do when you get down to the last of your steel cut oat supply? Add other grains! Today, I made a 3-grain porridge using 1/2 cup steel cut oats, 1/8 cup quinoa, and 1/8 cup quick cooking barley. This made 3 servings.

I toasted my oats in the pan while my water boiled in the kettle, then poured 3 cups of boiling water over the oats. Watch out! If the pan is hot enough, it will sizzle and spit all over! I dodged the line of fire, but it was a close one. About half way through the cooking process, I added in the quinoa and quick cooking barley. Stir continuously and watch the grains soak up all the water. Add more water if needed.

This is where things got interesting. While the porridge was cooking, I stuck the other half of my baked winter squash bowl from yesterday back in the toaster oven to warm up. I stuck a little bit of Kerrygold butter in the center and sprinkled it with pumpkin spice. Then, I mixed up 1 scoop of my Pumpkin Spice Superfood Greens with about 1/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk.

The green is taking over!! Mixed it into my porridge and poured it into my pumpkin spiced squash bowl.

Kind of looks like a papaya.

I had to give a disclaimer that I only made my porridge look this way. This tasted a whole lot better than it looks, I assure you.

Lunch: Split Pea and Carrot Wilted Greens

The Mr. got home this morning just after 8am after a 12+ hour night shift, so when he woke up, it was lunch time. I had the last of our split pea and carrot soup over some power greens. Time to make more soup!!

Dinner: Wadley Salad and Rosemary Sweet Potato Fries

This was one of the best salads we’ve had on this cleanse! It had all the typical elements of a Wadley Salad, but we also had some banana peppers. The first bite tasted like pizza! The remaining bites did not though 😦 Topped it off with avocado, pumpkin seeds, and a splash of Bragg’s apple cider vinegar.

Sweet potato fries on the side!

Rosemary Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Cut up your sweet potatoes into fry shapes, getting them as uniform as possible.
  3. Place the fries on a baking sheet lined with tin foil.
  4. Pour the olive oil into a small glass container (or the palm of your hand, but that got messy for me) and add in 2 drops of Rosemary Essential Oil.
  5. Use your hands to coat the fries in the oil.
  6. Sprinkle with garlic salt and pepper. You can rub these into the fries as well.
  7. Spread the fries out so none of them are on top of each other. Add more spices if needed.
  8. Bake for 30 minutes, rotating the fries every so often so make sure they brown on all sides.

The rosemary flavor was subtle and very pleasant. Best served warm.

Leave a Reply

